Buzz

It’s happening: Starship may fly to 15km as early as Friday

Enlarge / When Elon Paul says it’s happening, it’s happening. (credit: Aurich Lawson / SpaceX / The Internet)

SpaceX has taken a key step toward getting a green light to fly its Starship vehicle to an altitude 100 times higher than the spaceship prototype has previously flown.

On Wednesday, the Federal Aviation Administration issued a temporary flight restriction for SpaceX to conduct a Starship launch from its facility near Boca Chica Beach in South Texas. The notification allows the company to attempt a Starship hop on Friday, Saturday, or Sunday, between the hours of 9am EST (14:00 UTC) and 6pm EST (23:00 UTC) daily. SpaceX must still obtain a launch license from the FAA for this flight.

The company’s founder and chief engineer, Elon Musk, has said SpaceX will attempt to fly Starship to an altitude of 15km to demonstrate the performance of three Raptor engines over the course of several minutes. The company’s previous flights to about 150 meters, in August and September, used a single Raptor engine.

Read 8 remaining paragraphs | Comments

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

six − 2 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.