Instagram’s new ‘archive’ feature lets you hide posts without deleting
Any dedicated Instagrammer knows that a carefully curated profile is extremely important. Sometimes, that means you may have to delete old photos that you no longer like or that don’t mesh with the rest of your profile.
Soon, though, you may have some middle ground between keeping a pic you don’t like and deleting it forever.
That’s because Instagram may soon offer a third choice: archive. The company is currently testing a feature which lets you hide photos from your profile without deleting the post entirely.
Similar to the feature that lets you privately save other users’ photos, the archive feature moves posts to a separate section of the app. Once archived, your followers will no longer be able to see the post, though you can still view comments and likes from before the post was archived.
You can also opt to re-share the photo back to your profile if you change your mind. The feature is currently still a test, though it looks like it’s starting to appear for more users (including several Mashable staffers). It’s not clear when Instagram may make archive official.
“We’re always testing new ways to improve the Instagram experience,” an Instagram spokesperson said in a statement.