An anonymous reader quotes a report from Polygon: In August, Facebook announced that consumers who use its Oculus virtual reality headsets would be required to log in with their Facebook accounts in order to play games. The transition went into effect earlier this month, and it comes with a catch. If at any point you decide to delete your Facebook account, you immediately forfeit your access to any games or VR experiences you purchased through the Oculus store. The gotcha was spotted last week, and began to surface first on Twitter, only to be confirmed Friday by the team at UploadVR.
According to Facebook, those who create a new Oculus account will be required to use their Facebook credentials. Those who previously used a separate username and password to access the Oculus store have two years before the transition will be forced upon them. Once users flip the switch, they’re bound by a new end-user license agreement that formally entangles their VR purchases and their Facebook account. “Deleting your Facebook account will also delete your Oculus information,” warns Facebook in the Deactivation and Deletion section of its iOS app. “This includes your app purchases and your achievements. You will no longer be able to return any apps and will lose any existing store credits.”